More Roughseas Ahead..

Standard

13th November 2012 Tuesday.

 

roughseasinthemed    click to visit her site and enjoy.

Roughseas has again asked for a post and due to her loyalty and our kindness at CyKlopps we thought it only proper to honour her request. And Roughseas I really do hope you like and enjoy the tunes I have posted for you. As for the others in your list we will keep them for another day. Do not want to flood the market.

John Robert “Joe” Cocker  OBE (born 20 May 1944) is an English rock and blues singer, who came to popularity in the 1960s, and is known for his gritty voice, his idiosyncratic arm movements while performing, and his cover versions of popular songs, particularly those of the Beatles.   He is the recipient of several awards, including a 1983 Grammy Award for his #1 hit “Up Where We Belong“, a duet he performed with Jennifer Warnes. He was ranked #97 on Rolling Stone’s 100 greatest singers list.

I think this a beautiful version, and video. hope you agree..This song put me onto him many years ago, and it is far superior to the Beatle version. He has that earthy gritty voice with so much for the songs he is singing.

Here is another beautiful song showing his versatility by doing a duet with another beautiful voice. Any fans of Joe Cocker will know her and this song so very well. It certainly takes me back to the days of love and beautiful people and music.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<,

Golden Earring…

    Golden Earring…old and new.        

Well I must admit I have been converted, I neither liked or disliked but doing research on them and finding the amount of music they have done and listening to much of it, I have now become a Golden Earring fan. Roughseas’ I think your choice is very good and I hope you enjoy my choices for you. Obviously had to include their big Brit hit.

Here is a little bit of info about them via Wikipedia.

Origin The HagueNetherlands
Genres Hard rock
Progressive rock
Psychedelic rock
Nederbeat
Years active 1961–present
Labels Polydor , Universal
Website www.goldenearring.nl
Members
George Kooymans
Rinus Gerritsen
Barry Hay
Cesar Zuiderwijk
Past members
Hans van Herwerden
Fred van der Hilst
Jaap Eggermont
Frans Krassenburg
Peter de Ronde
Sieb Warner
Bertus Borgers
Eelco Gelling
Robert Jan Stips
John Legrand

Golden Earring are a Dutch rock band, founded in 1961 in The Hague as the Golden Earrings (the ‘s’ was dropped in 1969). They achieved worldwide fame with their international hit songs “Radar Love” in 1973, “Twilight Zone” in 1982, and “When the Lady Smiles” in 1984. During their 51 year old career they topped the Dutch rock charts on over 40 occasions; over the years they produced 41 studio albums. Current members of Golden Earring are Barry Hay (vocals, guitar, flute and saxophone, member since 1968), George Kooymans (vocals and guitar, founder of band), Rinus Gerritsen(bass and keyboard, founding member), and Cesar Zuiderwijk (drums and percussion, member since 1970).

15 responses »

  1. Excellent post Gerry! The trivia history is spot ont. Like how you showed both old and new members of Golden Earring. Nice touch! Will have to listen to more before I comment honestly on my own thoughts musically.

    Joe Cocker needs no words.

    Great choice on roughseas part. Enjoyed the music and enjoyed the trivia.

    • I loved Gerry’s trivia info too.

      I loved Radar Love so much that they could be a one hit wonder for all I care, it was brilliant, a bit like I always associate Ram Jam with Black Betty. Challenge to Gerry: Manfred Mann qv below also did it, but I can’t find a version. Can you?

      • I see the trivia included as making the most of the post.

        Black Betty? That takes me back to great memories for which you prompted me with it’s mention.
        A cover done by my little brothers band, The Bounty Hunters is usually done well by them. Though I was there to work the venue on gig nights for them this tune always would distract me and move my feet.

        I have seen a Sheryl Crow’s version as well which I thought was quite good.

        Shared music is always a groovy thing! Thanks.

  2. Thank you Gerry. Especially for the extra info about both. Listening to the first chords of the Joe Cocker rendition (little help) reminded my partner of Manfred Mann’s Davy’s on the road again.

    What an amazing band Golden Earring is. I just love Radar Love, though. Thanks for that one.

    And a super post. Can I add manfred mann to my request list? Blinded by the light would be tops as I have doo wah diddy on a 45 rpm :D

Leave a Reply

